Form of City Government

Form of Government

The City of Gainesville is a political subdivision of the State of Texas, incorporated in 1873. It is a home-rule city, and as such its City Charter serves as its constitution.

Gainesville’s first charter was granted in 1909. The most current City Charter was approved by the voters on August 10, 1996. The City operates under the Council-Manager form of government. The Mayor and six Council Members formulate the operating policy of the government, and the City Manager serves as the Chief Administrative Officer.